There Was No Historical Jesus

Several weeks ago, I finished reading Richard Carrier’s book, On the Historicity of Jesus: Why We Might Have Reason for Doubt. This book has completely flipped my evaluation of the subject, and now instead of considering it more likely than not that there was a historical figure based on whom the Jesus mythology developed, I have now come to agree with Carrier that Jesus probably originated as a celestial deity that was later falsely placed in history.

Unfortunately, Carrier’s book is a very difficult and lengthy read, so I fear that many people that are interested in its subject matter will not read it. That, plus wanting to be able to answer my wife’s question, “So what was his argument that convinced you?” I have begun the daunting project of condensing and slightly reorganizing his work into a more digestible form. I am not done yet, but I have worked my way up through Chapter 8 of the book, which was the chapter that more than any other shifted my opinion. I therefore have now posted my series of essays on this book, which should be viewed as a work-in-progress. Even my summary is long, for which I apologize. But I think it is worth the read. As always, I welcome any and all feedback, be it positive, negative, curious, or whatever. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

